Skip to main content

Mei Sheng

Mei Sheng

Founding Principal

Ms. Sheng has more than 15 years of professional experience in architectural design and landscape planning with particular expertise with sustainable communities and urban spaces. Her practice focuses on creating site-specific designs that explore leading-edge environmentally sustainable and culturally-sensitive approaches. Ms. Sheng has led ATA’s Landscape Design Studio in Beijing since 2005. Prior to joining Austin Tao & Asso. in 2003, Ms. Sheng was the site planner at SmithGroupJJR in Chicago, where she worked on large-scale urban redevelopment and planning projects in the Midwest States.

In addition to professional practice, Ms. Sheng has been active in research, teaching and writing. Since 2006, she has been a guest speaker at universities including Peking University, Tianjin University and Xi'an University of Architecture and Technology. Ms Sheng has conducted research on environmental planning issues and authored papers for professional publications including Landscape Design, Chinese Landscape Architecture and Landscape Architecture Frontiers. Ms. Sheng is the founder of the ATA Traveling Fellowship Program where she has sponsored and provided mentoring for more than 10 university students since 2011.


  • Master Planning
  • Landscape Design
  • Architecture Design


  • 2002, Master of Landscape Architecture,University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
  • 1997, Master of Engineering in Architecture History, School of Architecture, Tianjin University, China
  • 1994, Bachelor of Engineering in Architecture, Tianjin Chengjian University, China

Professional Recognition

  • Licensed Landscape Architect (MO, USA), ASLA
  • 2013-2014, Adjunct Professor, The Graduate School of Landscape Architecture, Peking University, China
  • 2009-Present, Contributing Editor, Landscape Design Magazine, China
  • 2002, Edward L. Ryerson Travelling Fellowship, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 2001, ASLA Graduate Certificate of Honor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 2001, Kluesing Prize, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign